It’s Not Peace Corps Until…

28 Oct

I hit a few milestones this week. Signs that I am a Peace Corps volunteer…

#1 I got my first violent vomiting, GI, Montezuma’s revenge, double headed dragon, whatever you want to call it sickness. But I survived and still want to be here so check that one off the list. Luckily it was only 24 hours. (If only I could have it once and be done, but I foresee many a crumpled on the floor weeping moment in the future).

#2  I have fleas in my bed. I remember reading volunteer’s posts before I came and seeing things like “you get used to it” and “it’s not that bad” and thinking I will never get used to fleas, that sounds disgusting. And yes, it is. And yes, you get used to it. At this point, if I’m not going to get malaria, dengue fever, typhus or some other crazy tropical illness I don’t care. Bring it on. Hours of itching and hundreds of bites all over my body? Child’s play. Refer to milestone #1.

#3 I can conjugate verbs! In Amharic!… sort of. If by conjugate you mean I kind of recognize a pattern on paper but still have absolutely no idea what anyone is saying-ever.

#4 I have chaco sandals tan lines. AND they are the double strap kind so that just makes it more legit.

#5 I ate ox stomach. I don’t recommend it, but if I’m going to keep a mental list of Anthony Bourdain worthy foods, I guess ox stomach is like the minor leagues. I’ll keep you updated as I get more adventurous.

#6 I pooped in a hole. Well, really this one came in the first week, but it was a milestone nonetheless. They say once you’re in Peace Corps all you talk about is pooping. Yup, that’s pretty much accurate. It’s also not very ladylike.

In other non-fecal news, I have switched language teachers because my first teacher is now teaching Oromifa (one of the regional dialects). My class is now 5 people, which is actually pretty large for learning a totally new language and new script. I like my new teacher as well, but 5 of us is really a lot to handle (especially when we are all suffering from #1) and I feel a bit of pity for her. Oh wait, unless she is suffering from #1, no  I don’t.

2 Responses to “It’s Not Peace Corps Until…”

  1. apronheadlilly October 29, 2012 at 2:56 am #

    You are braver than me! Bless you. I think the fleas are actually the worst!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Introducing Dr. Wahib | Wanderings and Wonderings - December 4, 2012

    [...] have been slightly incapacitated once so far. I’ll spare you the details (or you can read them here depending on your curiosity level). They are available 24/7 with all our tropical disease drug [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,077 other followers

