A Peace Corps Playlist

21 Jan

So this would be the most random playlist ever, but here are my top most played recent songs on my iTunes right now (in no particular order). Clearly, music choice is the best barometer for my mood swings. Now no judging, sometimes you just got to rock out to Carrie Underwood when you miss America.
Hopeless Wanderer- Mumford and Sons [probably the G8 volunteer anthem… we are small obsessed with their new album]

Gold on the Ceiling- The Black Keys [one of my favorite concert T-shirts; I will never regret packing it, so comfy!]

Zion – Lauryn Hill [when you need a little soul]

Wordplay – Jason Mraz [for funsies]

Home – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros [always a favorite]

Winter Winds- Mumford and Sons [some days I feel angsty ok?]

On the Radio – Regina Spector [oldie but a goodie]

Gobbledigook – Sigur Ros [this is mostly what I understand in Amharic]

Underneath the Sycamore- Death Cab for Cutie [lately I’ve been harkening back to high school apparently]

California Dreamin’ – Mamas and the Papas [because you have to sometimes]

Unknown Brother- The Black Keys

Awake My Soul – Mumford and Sons

Chain – Fleetwood Mac [old school]

22 – Lily Allen [oh British pop, I miss you]

Drumming Song – Florence and the Machine [good cooking music, just don’t chop onions because you will be dancing and crying at the same time- trust me, it’s not pretty]

Show Must Go On – Queen [epic, and don’t try to convince me otherwise]

Crossroads – John Mayer [originally Cream]

The Youth – MGMT

Pumpkin Soup – Kate Nash [just threw that one in here because I really want some right now… the song’s not bad either. And you thought I could get through a blog post without mentioning food… hah!]

Mountain Sound – Of Monsters and Men [Indie music on a long drive here is perfect]

Le Long du Large – Coeur de Pirate [when I like to pretend I’m international]

La Inta Habibi – Fairuz [when French isn’t international enough, I break out the Arabic… nerd alert]

Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars [the bluegrassier the better in my book! Though I think this is because I’m having home-grown music withdrawal, Ethiopia may start my love of country music (and jazz?)… watch out!]

Seen It All Before- Amos Lee

Ho Hey – The Lumineers [miss you Denver!]

Caring is Creepy – The Shins [especially for a Peace Corps Volunteer, I mean, Ethiopia is basically the Garden State if you squint and pretend the guys telling you “you’re beautiful” are Zac Braff]

Settle Down – Kimbra

Red – Taylor Swift [no judging because the next one is worse…]

Beauty and a Beat (feat. Nicki Manaj) – Justin Bieber [my soul just died a little, but my heat skipped a beat]

Janglin’ – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros [I jangle all day every day]

Mowgli’s Road- Marina and the Diamonds [more funsies]

Kill the Director – The Wombats [THIS IS NO BRIDGET JONES!!!!!…. truth, says the chicken in my bathroom]

Stay by My Side (Acoustic) – Mishka [people are really into reggae here… and Mariah Carey (understandable), Michael Jackson (ok, cool), and Celine Dion? (what??? I’ve never heard so much Celine blasted from souks in my life. My Canadian self kinda loves it, my sanity does not)]

Chasing Pavements – Adele

Shake It Out – Florence and the Machine

I understand there is a suspicious lack of “Africa themed” music on here. I won’t lie, I’ve “blessed the rains down in Africa” “waved my flag,” and “Africayayed” more than few times, but they just don’t get put on repeat four months in. I will admit I have to get myself some Teddy Afro in my library, just don’t make me listen to it. And send me suggestions of new music I should check out! I don’t want to return hopelessly behind in 2 years.

I promise I will put together a cool music of Ethiopia post at some point, right now I really just hear a lot of Celine Dion and Teddy- I know there’s more out there!

Leave a Reply

