Extreme Home Makeover

21 Mar

Now that I’ve lived at site for about three months I’ve finally put my house together. A mishmash of donated furniture, locally bought items, things I made myself and a classy plastic “marble” floor have made this cement shelter into something I actually felt was home when I walked in after 3 weeks away yesterday.

Welcome to my humble abode:

The entrance, with pretty iron work

The entrance, with pretty iron work

Home improvement projects still abound, but I’ve basically put together a space I can call my own. Here is the transformation.

BEFORE:

Priority 1 - set up bed

Priority 1 – set up bed

Living off the floor

Living off the floor

cement floors

cement floors

Step one was getting flooring and furniture in:

Living Room/Kitchen

Living Room/Kitchen

Step 2 was getting my cooking off the floor. That was a good day:

Kitchen set up - propane stove, water filter. I can get pretty creative.

Kitchen set up – propane stove, water filter. I can get pretty creative.

Step 3 was extra life furniture (wardrobe, bookshelf, malaria net etc.) I was really proud of myself for getting unfinished wood and varnishing/painting things myself. Take that ferenji prices!!

 

Bedroom - No Malaria for me!

Bedroom – No Malaria for me!

The bookshelve I made out of veggie crates. Probably killed a few brain cells with that varnish

The bookshelve I made out of veggie crates. Probably killed a few brain cells with that varnish

Shelf after paint

Shelf after paint

Step 4 was adding some homey touches and wall decorations:

"Success is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiam" Winston Churchill

“Success is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiam” Winston Churchill

Henry David Thoreau

Henry David Thoreau

A little slice of home

A little slice of home

Keeping track of my service

Keeping track of my service

Vincent Van Gogh

Vincent Van Gogh

 

So all together:

colourful walls!

colourful walls!

So that’s where I’m living for the next two years. Not too shabby. Water is outside the compound and the shint bet (bathroom) is shared with everyone a few doors down. There’s a western toilet (what. up.) and a cold shower. I’m hoping to get a bamboo weaved basket to put random things in and I’ll probably put up another quote above the counter (suggestions welcome!). Future plans also include putting up my favorite photos that I’ve taken here around the Ethiopia map on the wall.

Sorry for the lack of posts these past few weeks, I didn’t realize I would be without internet during my conference so I’ll back on it soon!

 

2 Responses to “Extreme Home Makeover”

  1. Allison July 26, 2013 at 1:09 am #

    Hello there! I’ll be an Ethiopian volunteer in February. I was wondering how on earth you found plastic flooring?! All the other blogs feature that oh-so-lovely cement floor.

    • sarahjcrozier July 29, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      Any market should have it! There are “home wares” souks with drapes, flooring and other accessories in the markets. I happen to live in a bigger town, but any town market should have it. I paid about 60 birr per foot, if that helps.

Leave a Reply

