A Simien Day Trek

22 Aug

Only 30 minutes north of my house are the beginnings of one of the most impressive mountain ranges in the world – the Simien Mountains. At least according to Planet Earth, their “Mountains” episode features the Simiens. Truthfully, I had never heard of this range before I came to Ethiopia, but that could because I had Colorado snob syndrome and will only ski on powder and hike the Rockies in the summer. I even caught myself saying “Ras Dashen isn’t even a 14er…” to someone… Rocky. Mountain. Snob.

But there is nothing like this topography in the Rockies. They call this area the “Grand Canyon of Ethiopia,” and for good reason. The sheer cliffs, crevices, and peaks are anything but typical.

A Panoramic View

A Panoramic View

So since the Cameroonians were in town, we jumped on their half day hike with our good friend and tour guide Robel. (Family, we will do this hike… bring yo boots!) We were able to see three endemic species (Lammergeyers aka vultures, Chilada baboons, and Colobos monkeys).

A Lammergeyer (vulture endemic to the Simiens) in the mist

A Lammergeyer (vulture endemic to the Simiens) in the mist

SONY DSC

So. Many. Baboons.

So. Many. Baboons.

Chilada Baboon in the mist (also endemic)

Chilada Baboon in the mist 

We hung out with some of the local farming kids (this whole Amharic speaking thing can be awesome). And circled around a herd? group? gaggle? of baboons. And clearly we had to do some photoshoots.

These kids were like mountain goats, I was so sure they were going to fall off the trail running after us!

These kids were like mountain goats, I was so sure they were going to fall off the trail running after us!

The whip sounded like gunshots

The whip sounded like gunshots

Me and my Morgans

Me and my Morgans

Ciara (Peace Corps Cameroon and fellow Boulderite and BUer) came to visit

Ciara (Peace Corps Cameroon and fellow Boulderite and BUer) came to visit

Cleary we had to do a jumping photo

Cleary we had to do a jumping photo

So I still love my Rocky Moutains, but I won’t complain about mountain withdrawal during service. In October we tackle the “big one” – Ras Dashen – the highest peak in Ethiopia. And turns out I was wrong… it is a 14er at 14,928 Ft (4,553 meters) though google seems to be conflicted (I saw one estimate at over 15,000 ft). Even the most solid things are contested here. I mean, I am still in Ethiopia.

 

5 Responses to “A Simien Day Trek”

  1. Andrew Wojtanik August 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Incredible stuff! This is atop my list for when I (eventually) visit Ethiopia…

  2. joyce dowd August 22, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    What a beautiful sight! Lovely greenery on the mountainside and the baboons how much fun was that! I can see your mom now trying to figure out how to
    pack 4 pairs of boots You should have a fabulous time and what an experience the family will have!!!

  3. apronheadlilly August 22, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    Beautiful and so green! And you look skinny! 🙂

    • sarahjcrozier August 27, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      Haha thanks! Lots of hiking (per the post) and I’ve started the Insanity work outs, easy to do in my home.

      • apronheadlilly August 27, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

        Danny teaches that stuff and a friend made him a shirt labeled DANsanity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

